Widseth’s Mystical Lute
When used by bards, their bardsong grants each party member a total of +1 To Hit & +3 Damage (+2 To Hit & +4 Damage if the bard is 5th-level) to their melee and ranged attacks. The bard may physically attack while playing this instrument and/or initiate one Free Action.
Since performing bardsong is a Standard Action (this instrument does not change that fact), the bard may not do any of the following while performing with this instrument unless it can be performed as a Free Action:
- activate a Special Ability
- activate a wand
- apply a salve
- apply an oil
- cast a scroll
- cast a spell
- drink a potion
- make a Lore check
- any Standard Action other than physically attack
I.e., the bard may perform bardsong, physically attack, and/or do one Free Action, but nothing else in any given round.
When played by a bard, this magical instrument takes control of the bard’s hand-held combat items of choice and attacks on the bard’s behalf, using all of the bard’s relevant combat bonuses and restrictions. Thus, it allows bardsong to be performed while simultaneously engaging in physical combat with either a 2-handed weapon or one 1-handed weapon & one off-hand-held* item combo. It does not allow a bard to attack as a Free Action, it allows the attack and bardsong to occur at the same time. It’s a subtle distinction, but an important one because it means the bard can perform bardsong, make a weapon attack, and perform a Free Action in the same round. If this instrument converted attacking as a Standard Action to a Free Action, the bard would not be able to perform another Free Action in the same round.
*An off-hand-held item is something the bard could normally use in combat which is held in the off-hand. In most cases it will be a shield, but it could also be a more esoteric off-hand combat item such as (but not limited to) an Orb of Might or Brawler’s Mug (R). Bards choosing to engage in combat with a two-handed ranged weapon may wield an Archer’s Buckler as the off-hand-held item when playing WML.
Rule of Thumb: If the bard can use the items while engaged in combat without WML, the items can be used while playing WML. Conversely, if the bard cannot use the items while engaged in combat, neither can WML.
Note: Melee damage the bard inflicts while playing this lute will trigger Retribution Damage (assuming the target can inflict Retribution Damage) but ranged damage will not.
Erratum: The original printing of this token was missing the black hand icons at the bottom. Like all bardsong instruments, it requires two hands to use.
Text On Token
+2 damage for party.
Bard may physically attack